Buddhist Saints

According to the Buddhist belief system there are four types of holy individuals who span the gap between Buddhahood and ordinary, unenlightened humanity. These are the Stream-Errant, the Once-Returner, the Non-Returner, and the Arahant. These four types of holy individuals are distinguished from one another by the degree of their insight into the nature of reality. Buddhists measure holiness by the intensity experienced in deep meditation which allows the individual to see the illusion of worldly concepts and ideas. The greater the experience, the more piercing the insight, the more concepts are seen as mere illusions and thus abandoned. These illusionary concepts are regarded as fetters which chain the soul to the wheel of Karma and thus prevent the individual from attaining final liberation, and therefore, in effect, “sainthood.”

-Saints, The Chosen Few


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s